Zero Resistance

The glass,

full of devils water,

sitting within arm’s length,

taunting me again.

My conscience tries

desperately

to convince me to stop,

but temptation wins.

 

I take another sip.

 

I’ve lied to myself

many times,

by skipping meetings

and cheating.

Thinking I can mask my thirst,

eager to have a taste,

forcing me to raise the glass

to my lips and drink.

 

I take another sip.

 

I leave the bar.

Hear tall, laughing buildings

mock my gait.

See sidewalk cracks widen

into treacherous cliffs.

Heading home in a drunken haze

is a state familiar to me.

 

I take another sip.

 

I fumble with my keys

missing the hole twice.

I know it’s pathetic,

what’s left of my life.

Before finding the bed

I fall,

crashing to the floor,

 

I take another sip.

 

It’s difficult now

to keep my eyes open,

so I let them close.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

